WHEN OBEDIENCE IS TRULY DIFFICULT.

Sometimes God’s instructions could take on a daunting appearance and you are wondering, “how can these things be?”

In today’s post, we look at what you can do when you don’t know what to do and the task ahead seem insurmountable.

Nobody bounces out of the sitting room to go to the Cross, you must be going to the birthday party of your friend or a bestie.😄

To take a stride towards the Cross-kind of obedience, you must have visited a place called Gathsemane, sometimes sweated like blood and felt that reckless abandonment of friends you wished would be close enough to pray with you or simply understand.

My friends, do you have times in your lives where you truly find it too difficult to obey God?

Are there times when what God is saying to you seem impossible based on your current circumstances and abilities?

Then, please visit Gethsemane. It is in this place that all fleshly desires will burn out, all human logic melts away, and you are faced squarely with, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”

From the garden of Eden, God prophesied it, “the seed of the woman shall bruise the head of the serpent.” The Old Testament’s prophets confirmed it, but when our Lord Jesus (because he took on our humanity) came on the scene and faced the realities of the Cross, He turned to the Father, wishing there could be another way to pay for the sins of man.

Father if it is your will, let this cup pass over me…..”

Is it different from the doubts in our hearts as well,

Lord do I have to do it at all?”
“I don’t think I am the best man for this”
“Lord I know someone who can do this better than me”
“What if it doesn’t work?

But Jesus did something we must do when that obedience seem difficult,

“Speak to the Father, seek reinforcement- Gethsemane”

Nobody holds a meaningful conversation with the Father for “three hours” returns the same way…

Sometimes we need more than that 5minutes chitchat with God. Those kind of prayers where you enter with impossibility crowding your head, but you return with possibilities that have been confirmed.

Those kinds that make the doubt fly out through the window, that kind that makes you return in the power of the Lord, ready and willing to climb the Cross. The jeers of the crowd no more weary you, the questions of the high priest no longer frighten you, the sight of the nails no longer dismay you and the cross (obedience) is but a light burden to bear because you know that; He who endures the cross will of necessity touch Glory.

God’s glory.

Do you feel like the things God is calling you to are difficult to attain?

Go to Gethsemane.

If you find it difficult going to the Cross, why not take a detour to Gathsemane first?

Blessings.

(Photocredit, touchstonemag.com)

13 responses to “WHEN OBEDIENCE IS TRULY DIFFICULT.”

  1. Nobody returns the same after speaking to the Father for three hours- that really struck me. That is so true.
    May we seek time with Him so we can strengthen our hearts to be obedient in all circumstances.
    Thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a pleasure always. Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Nobody holds a meaningful conversation with the Father for “three hours” and returns the same way…”

    I remember the 1st time someone asked me to join them for an hour of focused prayer. I thought to myself, “what are we going to pray about for 60 minutes.” I was so wrong. That hour of focused prayer for our children & their school became a very important part of my week. Our children are grown now but I still treasure those times of prayer. #momsintouch

    I can only imagine how beautiful and important these times were for Jesus & The Father.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmn! So true and awesome. Thanks for sharing💕

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You wrote this for me. I’m the 5-minutes 1-3 times a day guy. There was a time when I prayed for a half an hour to a whole hour. But for years I’ve followed the prayer concerns of my church. All about illness and praying for healing. And yet I know many of our families have overt sin in their extended families. And their language and behavior outside of church does not reflect a child of God. None of us is Jesus. But Jesus still expects us to strive for perfection (a reason to pray). We have members who lose elderly relatives who were solid Christians and yet they grieve for years, We need to confide in close friends who will keep our prayer concerns confidential and pray for the living that they can be ready to leave in a minute if death comes. We need to pray for blessings that have eternal consequences. And when I’m serious I will be able to pray for a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, glad to know you were blessed by this. We all struggle in many ways but like you rightly mentioned, God expects us to continually strive towards perfection daily. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  4. I totally agree, time spend at Jesus’ feet is always refreshing.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. My husband preached when obedient is hard, Part I & II. It is indeed hard sometimes.

    Like

    1. So true, but he makes all grace available to us in Christ.

      Like

  6. Great Post. Truly obedience is better than sacrifice. Recently we did a 3-part series entitled “Why Is Obedience So Important?” Thank you for stopping by. Blessings and peace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true. Thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Amen. You are most welcome.

        Like

Leave a comment